In 2018 there will be a new Flagship award. The Albert Schweitzer Medal and Lectureship. This prestigious award will be for services to the world in the area of literacy and health. As well as the medal, there is a cash prize and a lectureship. The opportunity to deliver a lecture at Manchester College, Oxford University (this was the College that Albert Schweitzer lectured at when visiting in Oxford in the 1920’s & 1930’s)


Award Categories 

  • Albert Schweitzer
  • The WLC Award for Change-maker of The Year
  • The WLC Award for Literacy NGO of the Year
  • The WLC Award for the Most Improved Country in Literacy
  • The WLC Indigenous Literacy Leadership Award


Nomination requirements

These awards may only be nominated by organisations that are members of, or affiliated to the World Literacy Council. It is acceptable for any organisation to nominate more than one person or organisation in any category. Ideally the winner should be able to receive the award at the opening ceremony at the World Literacy Summit at the Sheldonian Theatre, at Oxford University on the 26th March 2018. However, the World Literacy attracts more than 50 Ambassadors and it will be entirely acceptable for the award to be accepted on behalf of the winner by that Countries’ Ambassador or High Commissioner in London.

The Award will be presented by one of the World Literacy Council patrons, these include Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands (Chair of the European Literacy Council), Helen Mirren or one of our other patrons.

The Award is every 2 years and we expect that the holder will continue their exemplary work during the period that they hold the Award. At the World Literacy Council, we would like the Award winners to contribute from time to time to our online magazine and in our journal which is normally published bi-annually.

Forms are downloadable here Nomination Form_2018, and are required to be filled in and returned to